The Board of Directors of the Committee for King is a group of community volunteers of the Greater Lee County Area of Mississippi whose primary focus is to work continuously to fulfill the dream of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The Board’s goal is to make sure that the dream of love, compassion, respect, and racial harmony for all people becomes a reality, not only for the City of Tupelo, but also the great State of Mississippi and the Nation.

The following individuals presently serve on The Committee for King:

Contanna Purrell

Janette Kirk Chairman
Shawn Brevard Vice-Chairman
Martha Swinney Secretary
Theo Babb Treasurer
Kenneth Mayfield Past Chairman
Rev. William Shack Past Chairman
Board of Directors
Shelly Agnew Lola McKinney
Curmie Arnold Paul Lyles
Betty Beene Eloise Mayfield
Earlie Cox Atty. Kenneth Mayfield
Nettie Y. Davis Robert Miller
Atty. James Ford Contanna Purnell
Will Gillard Jerry Smith
Marcus Gary Florine Nails
Cassandra Moore Martha Swinney
Bianca Johnson Avis Wren
Executive Director
Charles Penson
Honorary Members
Rev. Robert Jamison Hon. Viola Foster – Deceased
Lillie Belle Johnson Earlene Gardner – Deceased
Darletha Grayson